• HelioHype
  • Posts
  • #007 DON'T GAMIFY your community, or if you do, follow....

#007 DON'T GAMIFY your community, or if you do, follow....

this one mistake (almost) killed one of my communities

Listen

You have no need to gamify your community if you make this mistake

It was so brutally fatal (I made it back in my early days, but fixed quickly)

Hopefully I found the solution before it got tragic

Imagine…

You are implementing a fancy gamification system

Everything is going perfectly well

You’re praised

But, suddenly… Something isn’t right.

Your users start churning a bit more and newcomers aren’t that engaged

“What’s the problem?” I asked myself

I had to go back to the drawing board…
Something about my strategy was utterly wrong

And that was gamification system

Something that gave amazing results in short-term
But became a terrible solution in the long run before I did this:

I implemented a weekly reset

Yes, we just did a reset of points that members got each week

This way:

  • Newcomers were motivated to win this week

  • Old users still participated

We “re-activated” both of the groups by just resetting scores

So, if your community is slowly dying because of the newcomers being uninvolved, just reset the scores on the leaderboard.

Don’t make silly mistakes like I did

Yours,
Valeria